Eating Out At a Fast Food Restaurant

Now I know that most people will take their children to these places since it is almost guaranteed that the child will eat.

With kids meals and toys and game rooms what child wouldn’t want to go there to eat.

But if you want your child or children to actually eat what they requested make it a rule that the extra curricular activities come after the meal.

Here is a child’s typical menu request at say McDonald’s.

chicken nuggets  fries large drink. If you have 2 children here is a way to cut down on the food wasted and money spent.

Order one med. order of nuggets, one large order of fries and 2 small drinks.

give each child the same amount of the nuggets and half the fries and they each get their own drink.

Get a 2nd dipping sauce so they each have their own.

Promise that if they are still hungry when done they can split another order.

I don’t think that will happen if you stick with the rule that the games come after the meal.

If it is a beautiful day use the drive through and take the meal to the park and eat out side.

If the day is nasty and you find the place too crowded for comfort you can take the food home and eat while watching a movie or let the children read a book while they eat. It is a lazy day meal so some rules can be relaxed a bit.

To keep the meal relaxed keep in mind that accidents happen. Drinks get spilled elbows get in the way of others.

So if things like that get you embarrassed or uncomfortable maybe taking the food out doors is the best solution for you.

Try pizza for a change of pace as most children will eat that and if they don’t like all the same toppings let them pick off the ones they don’t like.

As long as they eat and are enjoying themselves you will be the hero.

And who doesn’t like to be the hero from time to time.

About Grandma

I am a grandma of 4 I write stories for children I love to talk about children and give tested advice.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Grandchildren and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Eating Out At a Fast Food Restaurant

  1. This is excellent, timeless advice. We have always shared meals. My kids, even now, have never had their “own” order of fries. For them, their “own” simply means that what’s in front of them is their own, not that they got a whole packet. Pizza is also great, as you said, let them pick off what they don’t want. I think too many parents are catering to the whims of their children and creating fussy adult eaters. One thing I did do for my niece and nephew who were visiting recently (as they don’t know auntie’s rule of “you get what you get and you’re glad that you got it”), I bought a take and bake pizza, the kind that comes unbaked. I had a coupon for a large 1-topping, so the pizza was just $5. Anyways, I chose the pepperoni. When I got it home I pulled half the pepperoni off one side and put it on the other, then added canned olives to the whole thing. Then I baked it. My niece likes olives only on her pizza, my nephew likes pepperoni and olives. Everyone was happy. But I do like the “pick off what you don’t want” philosophy.

    • Grandma says:

      Submitted on 2012/05/28 at 1:45 pm

      I always tell people I did not have picky eaters. My mother usually answered that was because I didn’t cook what they didn’t like.
      So what! If they ate what was put in front of them and tried a bit of everything they were eating healthy and at some point they would enjoy the things they hated as children.
      My son just called from China and said they had over eaten at a restaurant the night before. I asked what the meal was and he said it was dishes of all sorts of things and he pigged out on the mushrooms. (Shock) as a child he told the world loud and clear that I forced him to eat fungus. Now at 31 he goes to a restaurant and eats them like there is no tomorrow.
      I also hear all the time to put vegetables into things by mashing them up in a blender. When I ask if the child eats the meal, usually the parent admits that no they don’t.
      I leave them bite size pieces and they have to have at least one bite of the thing they don’t like. The rest they can put to the side of the plate.
      Parents have so many battles they have to win why make a simple thing into a major one. Let it slide once in a while. I don’t think a child will die of malnutrition by missing out on a few peas.

  2. In general, my kids have not been picky eaters. But each child has had one or two things that they didn’t like. I just let them pick those things out and leave them on the side of the plate. (But the rule was “no making a big fuss over it, just quietly put the item aside”). My son didn’t like green peppers or onions, so I let him pick those out. One daughter did not like something we called wheat meat. It was a gluten based protein, cooked, chopped and formed like ground beef. I tried several times with her on this, required one bite. Then after making this about a half dozen times, with the same results, I just stopped making it. She was not picky about other things, so I figured she tasted something in it very unpleasant to her. And as I will not eat liver, ever, I won’t completely “force” my children to eat something that they have strong feelings against. Your right, a child won’t die of malnutrition by missing out on one thing at a meal.

Leave a Reply

