Help Someone, Help Yourself

This may be something to keep in mind some day when you are feeling like you don’t matter in the world.  If you are like me, you’re an empty nester, and your husband works all day. You are rattling around the house, thinking that if you disappeared would anyone in the town even know you were gone.

I think if we are honest, we have all felt like this a time or two and we do survive it, but the other day I found a way to beat the feeling.

I was at the grocery store attempting to find things I actually felt like cooking for supper, while my sore feet didn’t want me to even put on shoes. I was wearing my moccasins while holding onto the cart so I could walk semi-normally. Rheumatoid arthritis keeps me from a lot of things, and the past few weeks have been horrible, so I guess that was what was causing my mood.

Anyway, I met a lady who works at the store and was chatting with her. She was leaving to go home at the end of her shift. I mentioned that she looked tired, and she said she was exhausted.

Her husband had been in the hospital for 2 weeks, so she was out of town at a motel to be near him. While there he suffered a heart attack, but insisted on coming home. She was trying to look after him while working and was near the end of her rope. She said she had to go home and try to figure something out for supper.

I wished her luck and suggested toasted tomato sandwiches as she had a basket of tomatoes and she decided that would be a nice easy meal.

I got home and was still feeling sorry for her and her situation at the moment. I went to the freezer and pulled out one of my basic chicken stew tubs, thawed it out over night and the next morning I added some potatoes, some more vegetables and heated it all in the pot. Then I made a batch of cheese biscuits to go with it.

I put it into a bag and walked down to the store about the time she was ready to go home. I found her and said “now you can go home and relax for half an hour supper is cooked.”
A few days later when I was back she gave me a hug and told me that was the first meal since her husband got sick that he ate the entire meal. Also, since then his appetite has been better and he has asked for certain foods that he hadn’t wanted in quite a while.

This simple act let her know that someone in the town liked her enough to not only offer help, but to help without being asked.

It made me feel great because I had made two people feel better.

It didn’t cost me much at all maybe $5. total and time as well as swollen feet from the walk to the store. All of that I can live with, since I feel better about myself and know that even though I may not be a big part of the town life I can influence certain parts of it that I do have to live with.

I know that I have made a friend. I still don’t know her last name but that doesn’t matter, I helped an acquaintance and made a friend.

I am not advocating that everyone go out and do something like that, but what can it hurt to smile at someone you know vaguely and say hello. They may be feeling down the same way you are at times and appreciate a friendly smile from a stranger.

So you can see from my little tale that by helping someone you may know well or just know them to nod and maybe chat for a bit you make yourself feel so much happier about your situation. Helping someone makes you forget your problems for a little while at least.

So try it and you may find you like yourself and your life a bit more and maybe not feel so lonely.

I know it works for me.

About Grandma

I am a grandma of 4 I write stories for children I love to talk about children and give tested advice.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Fun Activities, Growing Old and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

